

The Hosea Ballou Medal

The Hosea Ballou Medal was established by the Board of Trustees in 1939. It may be awarded by the Board to "recognize members of the Tufts community who have rendered exceptional service for the institution." The medal has been awarded 19 times since the Trustees established it in 1939.

1939	Frank W. Durkee, A1888, H1921
1940	Alfred Church Lane, H1913
1941	Vannevar Bush, E13, AG13, H1932
1944	Arthur Lamb, A1900, AG1900, AG1904, H1920
1947	Raymond Bliss, A1909, M1910, H1943
1948	Samuel Capen, A1898, H1921
1949	Charles Neal Barney, A1859, H1909
1950	Harold E. Sweet, A1898, H1955, E32P
1959	Herbert C. Hoover, H1920
1973	Robert W. Meserve, A31, H1979, A62P, A66P, A72P
1978	Allan MacLeod Cormack, H1980
1992	Jean Mayer, H1993
2006	Bruce Reitman, A72, AG83
2009	Linda J. Dixon, J63, F99
2012	Adele Fleet Bacow
2015	William E. Gehling A74 AG79 A05P
2017	Robyn L. Gittleman, AG69, A85P
2018	Jeffrey A. Summit, AG88, AG95, A03P, A05P
2019	Corporal Michael W. Lyons, TUPD
2019	Thomas S. McGurty
2021	Dean Alan D. Solomont, A70, AO8P
2022	Gerald "Jerry" Sheehan, A07P, AG09P
2022	Celeste Mahoney, A13P, AG17P
2022	Harris A. Berman, MD, FACP, Awarded Posthumously
2024	Eric C. Johnson
2024	James M. Glaser, Ph.D., A14P, A17P