Open Menu Close Menu Open Search Close Search

The Hosea Ballou Medal was established by the Board of Trustees in 1939.  It may be awarded by the Board to “recognize members of the Tufts community who have rendered exceptional service for the institution.”

Hosea Ballou Medal PDF

Year Recipient
1939 Frank W. Durkee, A1888, H1921
1940 Alfred Church Lane, H1913
1941 Dr. Vannevar Bush, E1913, AG1913, H32
1944 Arthur B. Lamb, Ph.D.,  A1900, AG1900, AG1904, H1920
1947 Dr. Raymond W. Bliss, A1909, M1910, H43
1948 Dr. Samuel Capen, A1898, AG1898, H21
1949 Charles Neal Barney, A1859, H1909
1950 Dr. Harold E. Sweet, A1898, E32P, H55
1959 Herbert C. Hoover, H20
1973 Robert W. Meserve, A31, A62P, A66P, A72P, H79
1978 Dr. Allan MacLeod Cormack, H80
1992 Dr. Jean Mayer, H93
2006 Bruce H. Reitman, A72, AG83
2009 Linda J. Dixon, J63, FG99
2012 Adele Fleet Bacow
2015 William E. Gehling, A74 AG79 A05P
2017 Robyn L. Gittleman, AG69, A85P
2018 Jeffrey A. Summit, AG88, AG95, A03P, A05P
2019 Corporal Michael W. Lyons, Tufts University Police Department
2019 Thomas S. McGurty
2021 Dean Alan D. Solomont, A70, A08P
2022 Gerard Sheehan, A07P, AG09P
2022 Celeste Mahoney, A13P, AG17P
2022 Harris A. Berman, MD, FACP, Awarded Posthumously
2024 Eric C. Johnson
2024 James M. Glaser

May 14, 2024